Rozee Knits


Told ya!
November 16, 2006, 4:58 pm
Filed under: ideas/plans, progress, random, sp9

I said I had a real update coming soon, and here it is!

First, I apologize for the bad photos. My camera is being an asshat today, and it wasn’t until I put my sheets in the washer (yes, I take all my pictures on my bed. What? It’s comfy!) that I realized I forgot to take the pics I needed to update. But at least my mattress is clean. :p

The List isn’t going so well. Or maybe it is, but it just doesn’t seem like it, because it keeps getting longer. I’ve been doing a lot of crafting for work, so that’s taking up quite a bit of my personal crafting time. But I’m getting paid to do what I love. No complaining here!

The Starburst Sock is about an inch and a toe away from completion. However, I haven’t worked on it in a good two weeks, because it’s not a priority. I feel bad that it’s just sitting there, alone and toeless. Maybe I’ll finish it up this weekend. Maybe.

I opened up my sock yarn drawer and saw the Lang Jawoll Jacquard and wondered what it would look like worked up (of course I’d already googled it and looked at a swatch, but it could look totally different in person, right?), so I pulled it out and cast on for a basic stockinette sock. I’m liking it so far, but now that I know what it will look like, I’ve lost interest. For now, it will go in the ufo pile until I have the urge to knit on it again. It’s not meant for anyone, so I’m not worried about finishing it any time soon.

My Lorna’s Laces in Vera also caught my eye on that fateful trip to the sock yarn drawer. I refused to let myself cast on for the Jaywalkers until I had improved my knitting skills a tad more. But it was haunting me, those poor, untouched hanks. I decided I would just wind them into balls for when I was ready. So I did. Then I decided I could just do the ribbing since I had already mastered that skill. So I did. Then I decided to do one round of the pattern just to see if I could do it. So I did. And I just kept going. And going. And going. I’m working it on size 1 needles, and my hand has been giving me a bit of trouble lately (see a couple of paragraphs below), so I’ve had to set them aside for a while. I can’t wait to finish them! They’re sooooooooo gorgeous!

I’ve put together a little package for my SP, but after the great package I got from my spoiler and seeing other packages that other SP’s have sent/received, I’m sort of unsure about mine. I came across these adorable notecards that have a knit background and a snowman (she’s from New Jersey, and they have snow there, unlike here, and people love snowmen, right?), and I thought they would be so cute for the package. Then I found a matching to do list and a small note pad, so I got those too. A while later, I was looking at the Christmas crafts at work and found some snowman jingle bells and decided to make her some snowman stitch markers. I found a few more snowman type things and picked them up. Now I have a whole envelope full of snowman stuff that sort of ties into knitting because of the cards and the stitch markers, but it’s not anything fancy. I already have plans for the second package, which will be quite a bit grander than this one (it includes handmade socks [see below] and a kit to make her own), but it won’t be for another month. My point is that I’m not sure if it’s “knitterly” enough. Any input?

As I said, I’m working on some socks for my SP. She said she doesn’t knit socks because “ya’ll must be on something to be playing with that tiny yarn and all of those tiny DPN’s”. So I’m making her a pair of simple socks using worsted weight wool (Lion Brand Felting) and size 3 dpns. Not exactly “tiny”, but small enough to not be bulky. I’m going to send these in the next package (because there’s no way they’ll be finished any time soon) along with some fancier worsted weight (I’m thinking Art Yarns Supermerino) and nice needles. I also have an idea involving something breakable, but I can’t spoil the surprise for everyone! Hehe. Anyway, the socks are just simple stockinette, but I did a picot cuff so they’re a little girlier. I sort of made it up as I went along, because I couldn’t find a decent pattern for worsted weight socks. I should have knit another round on each side of the picot, but now I know for next time, eh? I also decided to try doing a short row heel. For some reason, my heel never looks right when I pick up stitches along the flap, and this method just seems to look better. So I did it. And I love it! It looks sooooo much better, and it’s much easier and way less counting. I used Cosmic Pluto’s Tutorial which was supposed to be hole-less, yet somehow, I still ended up with a hole. I think I picked up the last wrap kinda funny, but all in all, I’m happy with the outcome.

I’ve been having some trouble with my right hand recently. My hands are pretty stiff lately and occasionally a bit swollen in the morning, but that usually goes away in a few hours. But a couple days ago, I started waking up in the middle of the night with severe pain in my right hand. It’s like it’s falling asleep on me, but I’ve tried every position I can think of, and it still goes numb. It’s started happening randomly throughout the day too. It’s nothing new to me, though. My fingertips will go numb occasionally while I’m knitting or crocheting. I used to think that it was just the way I was holding the hook or needles, but now that it’s happening when I’m not knitting, I’m getting a bit worried. Maybe it’s just because I’m overtired. I’m a little freaked out. I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t knit or crochet. I’ve been doing it my whole life. I can’t imagine not being able to do it anymore. I’m probably worried over nothing. I hope. :\

I almost forgot! I had my first knitting class at Michaels yesterday! I had 4 students, and two of them were lefties! It was frustrating as all hell at first, but once we got it figured out, it went well. We sat around for an hour and a half knitting and chatting. They’re coming back next week just to sit and knit with me during my regular class time. Yay! And now I can knit lefthanded. Double yay!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I LOVE the socks in Vera … that is such a beautiful color!
And I’m sure that you’re package will be fine! I just tend to spoil a little more then most, because that is just who I am. Don’t go by me; I like what you’re sending to your spoilee! 🙂

Comment by Secret Pal

The Vera kinda reminds me of spumoni. Mmmmm, spumoni.

Comment by rozeeknits

I meant to ask you earlier … what pattern are you using for the socks in Vera?

Comment by Secret Pal

I’m using Grumperina’s Jaywalker pattern. I loves it!

Comment by rozeeknits

Those stitch markers are so cute and festive!

Comment by Nic

Thanks! I hope my SP likes them!

Comment by rozeeknits




Leave a Reply

